Allgemeines
Architekturarchive
Archivbau
Archivbibliotheken
Archive in der Zukunft
Archive von unten
Archivgeschichte
Archivpaedagogik
Archivrecht
Archivsoftware
Ausbildungsfragen
Bestandserhaltung
Bewertung
Bibliothekswesen
Bildquellen
Datenschutz
... weitere
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren
null

 
Instead of posting a comic this week, I want to talk about video.

By now, most of you have probably seen the Librarians Do Gaga video by a bunch of library school kids. And there are tons more videos by library students and librarians.

Archivists, I think we can make a music video too. Go to http://groups.google.com/group/archives-music-video and request an invite if you are interested in helping with production. (Not just interested in watching–that part comes much later!)

I humbly volunteer my services as a lyricist. You can listen to a sample of my work below, and I just finished the full lyrics for Archivists Do Gaga, which I think is a natural choice for our first video.

Lyrics after the jump.

Archives Paradise

As I walk through the basement, far from natural light
I take a look at my life, and realize, it’s quite alright
‘Cause I’ve been arranging and describing so long
That even the interns think that my mind is gone
But I ain’t never crossed a patron that didn’t deserve it
Even for genealogists, I got no access restrict-ions
You better watch how ya processin’
and the fonds, keep respectin’
Or you and your homies might be deaccessioned
I really hate to leave but I gotta zoom
I’ve got researchers waiting for me in the reading room
Fool, I’m the archivist grad students wanna be like
Wearing gloves, breathing dust,
Red rot on my shirt front
Been spending most our lives, living in an archives paradise
No silverfish or mice, living in an archives paradise
A&A gives good advice, living in an archives paradise
Who cares about inherent vice, living in an archives paradise


Again a must read and a must hear!

Link to blog entry with audio file
 

twoday.net AGB

xml version of this page

powered by Antville powered by Helma